Leadership and Governance

In Memoriam: J. Mark FitzGerald

CTS mourns the loss of Dr. Mark FitzGerald, a visionary leader, pioneering scientist, caring physician, colleague and friend.


CTS Announcement

CTS Board of Directors and Executive Committee*  2021-2022

Paul Hernandez, President*
Dalhousie University
Halifax, NS

Dina Brooks, Past President*
McMaster University
Hamilton, ON

Richard Leigh President-elect*
University of Calgary
Calgary, AB

Mohit Bhutani, Treasurer*
University of Alberta
Edmonton, AB

Donna Goodridge, Secretary*
University of Saskatchewan
Saskatoon, SK

Jean Bourbeau, Chair, Business Development Advisory Committee
McGill University
Montréal, QC

Patrick Daigneault, Chair, Education & Continuing Professional Development
Université Laval
Québec, QC

David Gourde, Chair, Canadian Respiratory Health Professionals Representative
Centre intégré universitaire de santé et de services sociaux du Nord-de-l’Île-de-Montréal
Montréal, QC

John Gjevre, Chair, Membership Engagement & Communications
University of Saskatchewan
Saskatoon, SK

John Granton, Chair, Long-term Planning Committee
University of Toronto
Toronto, ON

Samir Gupta, Chair, Canadian Respiratory Guidelines Committee
University of Toronto
Toronto, ON

Larry Lands, Chair, Research
McGill University
Montréal, QC

Melinda Solomon, Pediatric Assembly Representative
Hospital for Sick Kids / University of Toronto
Toronto, ON

The CTS incorporated as a not-for-profit corporation on August 5, 2015.  The CTS bylaws were approved by the membership at the CTS Annual Meeting in April 2016.

Other policies and procedures:

CTS Policy on Tobacco and Inhaled Products

CTS Endorsement Policy

CTS Privacy Policy

CTS Conflict of Interest Policy_Under Review, Fall 2019

The CTS has a wide range of clinical assemblies that allow members to engage in activities such as the following:

  • Development of guidelines and knowledge translation tools
  • Development of position statements
  • Advocacy

Current assemblies and their leadership

  • Asthma – Dr. Dhena Radhakrishnan and Dr. Clare Ramsey
  • Canadian Respiratory Health Professionals – Mr. David Gourde
  • COPD – Mr. Ray Aceron and Dr. Erika Penz
  • Chest Procedures – Dr. Christopher Hergott
  • Home Mechanical Ventilation – Dr. Doug McKim
  • Interstitial Lung Disease – Dr. Martin Kolb and Dr. Lisa Wickerson
  • Pediatric Assembly – Dr. Dhena Radhakrishnan
  • Pulmonary Vascular Disease – Dr. Andrew Hirsch
  • Sleep Disordered Breathing – Dr. Najib Ayas
  • Tuberculosis & Infectious Disease – Dr. Dick Menzies