CTS Awards and Recognitions presented at CRC 2022

CIHR/ICRH – CTS Distinguished Lecture in Respiratory Sciences Award: Dr. Shawn Aaron



The 2022 CIHR/ICRH – CTS Distinguished Lecture in Respiratory Sciences was delivered by Dr. Shawn Aaron on the topic of 'Early Diagnosis and Treatment of Asthma and COPD'. CTS President Richard Leigh (L) and Dr. John Fleetham (R) representing the ICRH Institute Advisory Board made the award presentation.

CTS Distinguished Achievement Award: Dr. Darcy Marciniuk



Dr. Darcy Marciniuk was presented with the **CTS Distinguished Achievement Award** by CTS President Richard Leigh. Dr. Marciniuk was recognized for his impact in the respiratory field at the local, national and international level.

CTS Dedicated Service Award: Dr. Reshma Amin



The **CTS Dedicated Service Award** was presented to Dr. Reshma Amin for her exemplary contributions to patient care, collegiality and local/regional impact in the field of mechanical ventilation.

CTS Honorary Lecture Award: Dr. James Martin



Dr. Jim Martin received his award from CTS Past President Paul Hernandez after delivering the 2021 Honorary Lecture.

Lifetime Achievement in Pediatric Respiratory Medicine: Dr. Sheldon Spier



Dr. Sheldon Spier receives the **Lifetime Achievement in Pediatric Respiratory Medicine Award** from Dr. Christopher Gerdung, Chair of the CTS Pediatric Assembly.

CRHP Distinction Award: Dr. Donna Rennie



Professor Emeritus of Nursing, Donna Rennie, RN, PhD, CRE, is presented with the **Canadian Respiratory Health Professionals Distinction Award** for her contributions in leadership, mentorship and knowledge translation. David Gourde, Chair of the CRHP Leadership Council presented the award.



Dr. Alia Kashgari (R) was recognized for her leadership as Chair of the CTS' **National Senior Respiratory Fellows Symposium** and exam preparation course from 2014 to 2021. Paul Hernandez, CTS Past President, and CTS Executive Director Janet Sutherland presented the award.

CRHP Research Poster Award Winner: Justin Turner



Justin Turner (awardee) with Mika Nonoyama, Conference Co-Chair (L) and Karla Horvey, CRHP Leadership Council Member (R). Justin's poster was entitled: "Health and Social Service Providers' Lived Experiences of Severe Wildfires and Associated Poor Air Quality in North Central BC, 2018."

2nd CTS Mastermind Challenge – Winning team: University of Calgary



Congratulations to Team Calgary: **Dana Saleh, Erika Koeck, Melissa Morgunov**CTS Mastermind Challenge



Chris Hergott (MC), Dana Saleh, Erika Koeck, Melissa Morgunov and Cory Yamashita (MC)